June 7 Commission Meeting Minutes

Pickens County Registration and Elections Commission
222 McDaniel St. B-9
Pickens, SC 29671

June 7, 2011
4:30 p.m.

Members Present: Mrs. June Bowers, Chairperson;
Ms.GenevaRobinson, Vice-Chairperson;
Mrs. Gretchen Campbell, Secretary;
Mr. Noel Anderson;
Mrs.Sheree Chapman;
Ms. Jane Goolsby;
Mr. Herb Thompson
Staff Present: Mr. Rodney Allen, Executive Director;
Mrs.Stacey Kitchens, Office Coordinator
Public Present: Ms. Linda Gahan, League of Women Voters;
Paul Wickensimer, Clerk of Court for Greenville County


Chairperson Bowers called the meeting of the Pickens County Registration and Elections Commission to order at 4:30 p.m. and asked if all notices of the meeting were posted as required by the Freedom of Information Act.  Director Allen replied that the notices had been posted.  An invocation was delivered by Mr. Thompson.

A swearing in ceremony was conducted for newly appointed commissioner Ms. Jane Goolsby by Chairperson Bowers and Director Allen.

Chairperson Bowers stated the first item of business was approval of the minutes from the May 4, 2011 meeting of the Commission.  Mrs. Chapman motioned to accept the minutes from the previous meeting.  Ms. Robinson seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting was then opened to public comment.  Ms. Linda Gahan from the League of Women Voters spoke on the issue of the new Voter ID Law.  The League is against it due to budget issues, and infringement on elderly and disabled.  She asked how it will be handled in our office, to which Director Allen replied he would be covering the issue in his report.  Chairperson Bowers commented that we do not enact the law, but we do carry it out.

Director Allen then gave his director’s report.  Director Allen stated that Bill H3003 (Voter ID Bill) was signed by the Governor on May 18, 2011.  It is on hold awaiting preclearance by the Department of Justice.  The bill changes the required acceptable forms of identification at the polls to include any one of the following:  driver’s license, DMV issued ID, military ID, passport, and voter registration card with picture issued in the registration office.  It disallows formerly used voter registration cards without pictures.  The bill allows for someone to refuse to be photographed because of religious beliefs.  The new Voter Registration and Election Management System (VRMS) we receive will allow us to produce the new photo ID, but we will also need additional equipment such as printer and card stock.  Director Allen stated that the public will be aggressively notified when the law is precleared by the Department of Justice and in place.  Director Allen stated that he had a meeting with Sheila Crawford from the NAACP, who shared her concerns on the voter ID bill.  Director Allen provided the following statistics regarding the number of people this bill will affect in our county.  These people are registered voters but do NOT have a DMV issued ID or driver’s license: Age 18-24: 434 people, Age 25-44: 1534 people, Age 45-64: 806 people, Age 65+: 1039 people.  It will affect 3374 whites and 439 others, which includes blacks, Asian, and Hispanics. This constitutes about 6% of the Pickens County registered voters.

Director Allen also reported that the office was in the process of checking registration records against the County’s digital GIS maps to insure that all voters are in correct districts.  The new VRMS system will provide  resources to help with this as well as moving voters due to reapportionment in the future.

According to the census, in Pickens County 64.58% of eligible voters are registered to vote.

Chairperson Bowers asked if there was any old or new business that needed to be mentioned.  Director Allen informed the commission that the legislation concerning the Dellwood Subdivision has been passed.  Kudos to Director Allen and the Legislature.  Mr. Thompson thanked Director Allen for the thorough report on the Voter ID issue.

There being no further business, Chairperson Bowers asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting at 5:15 p.m.  Vice-Chairperson Robinson made the motion to adjourn and Mr. Thompson seconded the motion.  The motion carried unanimously and the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Mrs. Gretchen Campbell, Secretary

Mrs. Stacey Kitchens, Office Coordinator


You may download a printable copy of the minutes by clicking the download button below:

The above minutes were approved in the regular monthly Commission Meeting held Tuesday, July 5, 2011.